Steve Aoki and BTS: Waste It On Me // Colorful Singing Voices are Complemented by Shiny Electronic Sounds

fujiokashinya
2 min readNov 21, 2018

--

Steve Aoki and BTS

In 2018, one of great EDM DJ/Producer Steve Aoki has released his new album. One of my favorite songs in the album is Be Somebody with Nicky Romero and Kiiara. There is one more collaboration that I am interested in. That is the song Waste It On Me featuring BTS (방탄소년단/防弾少年団), the most famous boyband from South Korea. This collaboration is so impressive for me.

It is Waste It On Me that I listened to BTS vocals for the first time. The singing voices of BTS are colorful. The color of their singing voices gradually changes. I am in love with the gradation of the voices and hope that you will taste it. You will soak in the gradation comfortably when listening to this song.

BTS vocals are complemented by the electronic sounds created by Steve Aoki. His beautiful sound makes their singing voices better further. If BTS is an actor, SA sound is lights that illuminate a stage.

My image inspired by this sound is “gently shining lake surface” — when the wind blows, some small wave stand, and then the light also shakes. Instead of striking a bunch of overwhelming sounds on us, the sounds permeates us while gradually changing.

What do you imagine from Waste It On Me? We can enjoy the singing voices, electronic sounds, and what we will imagine from them.

--

--

fujiokashinya

I am just a music/book lover. 音楽体験NOTESとブック・レポート My Twitter page: https://twitter.com/fujiokashinya